top of page

The Grub and Rub Bistro


“Shadowspire at last.”

“Finally, I’d never thought I’d be so glad to see the city,” My-re said fully opening her eyes. It was late at night and her and Vomarian Fae spent the day walking back through the Rirorni Plains after their two mere dragon mounts scampered off.

“It’s another hour or so back to the Unsinkable III,” Vomarian said.

“Forget that. I’m sleeping in there,” My-re said jabbing her thumb towards the main gate. “I’m not walking another hour just to sleep in a cramped ship jammed full of smelly Shagornan elves.”

Scoffing, Vomarian stated, “We don’t smell.”

Pausing, My-re said, “Alright, I’ll give you that. How’s that possible. Is it something I can use?”

“It’s hereditary and unattainable.”

Rolling her eyes My-re continued, “The point is we have a perfectly good city, we have perfectly good gold, and they have perfectly good beds. If you want to go back to the ship I’m not stopping you. Me, I’ll be in there.”

My-re trekked towards the closed city gates. She really didn’t care if the Shagornan elf followed her or not, but she let slip a smile when she heard him following her. Approaching, she banged on the closed door.

A small window door opened. My-re recognized the veteran sergeant from a few days before. He was bald on top with white hair on the side. “The hour is late and the gate is closed. What bring you to Shadowspire?”

“Pleasure,” My-re said.

“Ah, I remember you two. Still celebrating your honey mead moon celebration, I see. Why are you two out so late? The gates were closed hours ago.”

“We were out sightseeing and lost track of time,” My-re said.

“May we come in now?” Vomarian Fae asked.

“I get it you were doing the Shadowspire crawl.”

“I’m sorry, the Shadowspire crawl?” My-re asked.

“No need to worry lass. It’s nothing to be embarrassed about. I was young once and we visited all the famous sites and christened them. My wife and I were also exhausted and crawling back to the city after all the se-”

Interrupting the guard, My-re said, “Yes, we are also tired from all of the…you know what.”

“May we come in now!” Vomarian Fae asked in a harsher tone.

“Alright, alright. I know you two love birds need your energy for tomorrow night’s activities.”

“Thank you,” My-re said exasperated walking through the gates.

When they were out of ear shot, Vomarian Fae commented, “That guard seemed fixated about procreat-”

Now, interrupting the elf, My-re said, “Yeah, creepy.” Continuing inward for several minutes, she mumbled, “I know I saw it when we were here the last time. Ah, there it is the Grub and Rub Bistro. The costs are outrageous, but it’s where the wealthy clientele stay to avoid being targets of the local thieves’ guilds. Besides, I always wanted to stay in one.”

Entering, the main floor was elaborately decorated with the finest leather furniture and furnishings. It had a bar, eating area, and served food and drink with the upper floors for rented rooms. The main area was empty, due to the late hour. A manager behind the front desk looked up and smiled as they approached.

“My lord and lady. Welcome to the Grub and Rub Bistro. If I may interest-”

My-re slapped two gold coins down on the counter. “We’d like a nice room.”

Slyly pulling the two gold coins towards him the manager continued, “A lady of refine taste. Our Knightly Lord Protector rooms will fit your needs perfectly.”

“Lovely.”

“However, for only two more gold coins, our Lady Greywand grand suite is available. Where you will suffer the best hospitality this establishment has to offer.”

“Define this suffering?” Vomarian Fae questioned.

“Yes, good sir. Not only does it include our spacious room with the finest silk linens the Rirorni Empire can spin, it includes breakfast in the morning, a nightcap from our vintage stores, and a before bedtime, individual hot baths. Also, our most highly skilled bathing attendants are available, both male and female, based on preference. For an extra cost.”

“We’ll take the grand suite,” My-re said pulling out two more coins and then clarified, “Just the suite.”

“Very well.” The manager showed them upstairs and showcased the room. Prior to leaving he lit several candles throughout and a small fire under the two individual copper tubs located in a side room next to the bedroom, fully tiled. Wooden benches went around the room for sitting and to place discarded clothes. “The copper conducts the head nicely. And as an extra feature, the fire will burn itself out. Enjoy your stay.”

After the manager left, Vomarian Fae unhooked his ring mail armor and pulled it over head and removed his padded undercoat used to prevent chafing.

Staring at him, My-re said, “Wow, you’re shredded. So, that’s what a strength 21 looks like.”

“What? You read my overview sheet?” Vomarian asked holding his arms in front of him awkwardly.

“Yeah, I did. I wanted to know a little about whom I’m traveling with and what your abilities were in a fight. It’s not like I read your diary or anything. Here, so we are even,” My-re said, and unfastened her ring mail armor and removed it. She turned from side to side in front of him. “I’m 16. Not bad, eh?”

Staring at her, there was little left to the imagination. Vomarian’s face turned red, he looked away, and said, “You’re 16 years old?”

“What? No. I have a strength rating of 16, Don’t make this awkward,” My-re scoffed and quickly stepped into the bath. Muttering she continued, “You Shagornan elves and Alastarians have too many anxieties about one’s bodies.”

Vomarian also stepped into the bath. He didn’t look at her and seemed hurt and embarrassed at the same time.

The minutes passed in silence. Things felt and were awkward between them now, like a heavy presence in the room. Great, My-re sighed as she thought to herself. Alright, this is stupid. She had to break the ice that somehow was now between them.

“What do you think we’d be doing if we were back on the Isle of the Eye?” My-re probed turning in her tub towards his.

“I don’t know. Training in the arena,” Vomarian said. “You’d probably be style leader by now.”

“Me? Doubt it. However, I’ve seen you fight. You’re really good and more likely be the Wall of Steel style leader by now.”

Watching him, Vomarian Fae seemed to relax in his tub at her comment. He appeared deep in thought, as a pleased smile slowly crept across his face.

“Perhaps.”


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page