top of page

A Giant Problem


"Welcome back to the Isle of the Eye!"

My-re was waiting for Vomarian Fae to join her in the Broken Swords tavern and noticed her palms had started to peel again. She lightly poked her bare, right shoulder, which was still recovering. Over the past two weeks, the healing potion had finally reduced it to a bad sunburn. However, anything touching it provoked the wound's ire. She adjusted her light clothing and looked up from her bar stool at General Pol. He had a wide smile on his face as he walked up.

"I take it your mission was successful?"

She thought back at the various events: searching for the dragon Araminth, in human form; almost starting a war with the Rirorni Empire; surviving the crash of the Unsinkable III, under threat of being eaten by crag wolves; getting summoned into the throne room of the Great Khan, Karameikos; being belittled by dragons; eventually learning Araminth was alive and then losing her to Varick, who held a grudge against her since the Rirorni war; and lastly, surviving the full might of a fiery blast from said dragon. "I'm not totally sure."

"Did you find Araminth?"

"Yes."

"Is she back with her parents?"

"Yes."

"Then I would say your mission was a success," Pol said. He handed her a glass filled with mushroom mead. "On the house."

"A Rirorni giving away free drinks?" My-re asked in curiosity.

Pointing with his chin to an empty, over-sized table and chairs, Pol said, "The Shews haven't been around for some time. I have cases of the stuff out back. With them gone it seems it's only ordered on dares, when a bet needs to be settled, or something along those lines," Pol said waving dismissively to his clientele.

Snorting in amusement, My-re retrieved the rounded glass and studied the brownish liquid for a moment. She sipped. The burnt, smoky cork taste took her breath away as it warmed her stomach. It even took the edge off from her shoulder. "Wow, that's smooth."

There was a flurry of movement out of the corner of her eye. My-re noticed the gladiator Anusha running around delivering orders and quickly clearing tables. "How's she doing since I left?"

Shrugging, Pol said, "She constantly complains about needing more help, takes long breaks, and threatens to quit about every two weeks."

"So, it's the same as when I worked for you?" My-re asked.

"Yup, it's like you never left," Pol replied, knocking twice on the counter and rising to leave. "If you want your old job back, it's yours."

"I'll think about it."

A short time later Vomarian Fae entered the tavern, and after spotting her, sat down on the stool next to her. "How are you holding up?"

"Fine. I don't know? I keep thinking about the mission," My-re said.

"Oh, speaking of missions, there's a rumor Lady Greywand has a giant problem," Vomarian said.

"What's that?"

"Shewish Giants."

"Yeah, I think I'll let the Home Guard handle that one," My-re replied.

"That's what I was thinking, too. So, what's bothering you?" Vomarian asked.

"It doesn't feel like a success."

"Not a success? We found Araminth and returned her to her family. Lady Greywand was overly complimentary of the outcome. I don't even think she believed we could do it. You've curried renown with dragons; they owe you a favor, which could make you very rich. You now have a mere dragon mount, you can travel anywhere in Ghea with that Rirorni Imperial pass and no one will mess with you, and you came out of it all with your limbs attached. A little singed, but attached," Vomarian said and brushed her still-recovering shoulder playfully.

"Ouch!" My-re howled.

"Sorry, sorry, sorry!" Vomarian stammered and held his hands up in apology. "Please continue. As you were saying."

"Originally, we were just tasked to find Araminth. An assumption was made that she was in some mortal danger. It was a rescue mission. But upon finding her, we discovered she didn't want to be found and was in hiding. Her parents wanted her mated to some drake. She had found love in Westwind and while she was human and not dragon, they were both happy. We totally messed that up. I think Lady Greywand was wrong to send us on that mission. I don't think we were on the right side," My-re explained.

Vomarian Fae sat back in thought, reached over, and took a sip of her drink. He choked, coughed, and set her drink down carefully. Composing himself, he said, "My-re, we were on a side."

* * *

'Your horde of Lord Protectors serves you well.'

Lady Sheila Greywand was sitting in the Crown Council audience chamber. She sat sideways on her chair reading the report of My-re's personal account aboard the Unsinkable III and the finding of Araminth Goldeneye. All sound within the chamber ceased and the smell of the lavender candles spaced throughout the room dissipated. She then noticed the previously unseen shade of a large creature surrounding her move slightly. It was as if reality itself distorted for a mere moment.

"Yrioth the Ancient. You honor me. With the satisfactory conclusion of our business, I assumed it would be a number of years before we spoke again," Sheila said.

'I convey a message. My-re has requested her favor from dragon. Though, at first I was unsure if the audacity and outrage surpassed my surprise and respect. At the end, I am more impressed.' Yrioth spoke in her mind.

"Interesting, what did she request?" Shelia asked. "A hoard of treasure? A rare magical item?"

'That is between her and dragon. This is for notification purposes only. Nevertheless, I acknowledge she has a cunning mind even I must admit and give the slightest nod to. This My-re is worthy of a dragon's hoard,' Yrioth said.

The sounds and smells of the room returned. Sheila could no longer sense the presence of Yrioth the Ancient in the Crown Council audience chamber.

"What in Ghea did My-re ask for?" Sheila asked herself out loud.

* * *

Westwind stayed in the empty arena in Shadowspire after the gladiatorial games, a routine he continued after Araminth left with her parents. She said she would return in two weeks, but as the months passed, he received no word. Deep in his heart, he knew her parents were not going to let her return. She would be mated and he would never see her again. The arena doors creaked open. The new cleaning crew was here. He rose to leave; there was no point waiting any longer. He'd be back here again in two weeks. It was a comforting rut.

A single person entered. Traveling across the sands, a hooded figure in a red robe entered through the entrance. By the silhouette, the person was female. She carried a bucket of water with an over-sized sponge floating on top.

Westwind stopped in his tracks. "Mint?"

Araminth pulled back her hood showing her fair skin and freckled nose. She tossed her tawny red hair back, which was a little rangy like her small, slender build.

Frantically leaping down the stairs two at a time, Westwind jumped over the railing, but his foot caught the end. He unceremoniously fell on his face to the sands. Araminth was there in an instant.

"Are you injured, my love?" Araminth asked.

"By the great goddess Gheal, I thought I'd never see you again!"

"The doubts were real. My mate was selected and the mating ceremony was to start when father ceased it."

"What? His mind changed? You must have been convincing for Yrioth to let you come back," Westwind said.

"No, father does not change his mind. Something happened. Not of my doing. He would not speak of it. He said for me to go and return at the close of your natural life," Araminth said.

"That doesn't mean I might have an 'accident' within next year, does it?" Westwind asked with worry in his tone.

"No, father thinks in terms centuries, not years. You have nothing to fear," Araminth said.

"The mother goddess Gheal must have been looking out for us. I, for one, thank her," Westwind said. He scooped Araminth up in his arms and gave her a passionate kiss. "For now, I'm taking you back home. . . and I hope the gods will not be watching."

* * *

Back on Willow Beach, on the Isle of the Eye, My-re sat on a solitary wooden lounge chair that could have been there since the beginning of time. Most of the paint had peeled away and the original color faded to the annals of history, yet it was still comfortable. She breathed in the lake's fresh water air as the waves lapped rhythmically onto the shore. It had a calming effect and her mood had lightened considerably. In the far distance, a giant storm was forming, but it would not reach the shore for some time. She looked down from above and watched as two sand lizards darted playfully back and forth across the beach with each other. All was right in Ghea for the moment. Sensing a familiar presence, her eyes looked up and she smiled.


~ End ~


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page